Tue 3 Apr - Sun 15 Apr

Pop-Up Poetry Playground

Using shapes created by children from Waltham Forest in poetry and illustration workshops, designers Pencil and Help have developed an interactive poetry playground with Discover Children’s Story Centre.

Take your pick from how you would like to create your poem – would you like to make a giant 3D poetry sculpture using foam shapes with words etched on to them? Or a mini poetry sculpture of small foam shapes that you can draw and photograph?

You can use the brightly coloured postcards to cut up words to make poems, draw or write a poem - it’s up to you! Pick up a yellow booklet that will help to guide you around the space, and you can complete all the fun activities and take the poems home with you.

Presented by Pencil and Help and originally commissioned by Discover Children’s Story Centre.

Venue: Apthorp Gallery

Booking Info


No booking required. Gallery open 10am – 4pm daily.

  • Tue 3 Apr 201810.00am
  • Wed 4 Apr 201810.00am
  • Thu 5 Apr 201810.00am
  • Fri 6 Apr 201810.00am
  • Sat 7 Apr 201810.00am
  • Sun 8 Apr 201810.00am
  • Mon 9 Apr 201810.00am
  • Tue 10 Apr 201810.00am
  • Wed 11 Apr 201810.00am
  • Thu 12 Apr 201810.00am
  • Fri 13 Apr 201810.00am
  • Sat 14 Apr 201810.00am
  • Sun 15 Apr 201810.00am

Remind Me